West Bengal Government honoured Bappi Lahiri and Kumar Sanu with Lifetime Achievement Awards


Who: Bappi Lahiri and Kumar Sanu
What: Honoured by West Bengal Government with Lifetime Achievement Awards
When: 14 December 2015

The West Bengal Government on 14 December 2015 honoured music composer Bappi Lahiri and singer Kumar Sanu with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

State Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee handed over the awards at the inauguration of the annual Bangla Sangeet Mela.

Besides, Bollywood musician Shantanu Moitra was awarded with the Sangeet Mahasamman Award.

The Bishesh Sangeet Samman was awarded to Dwijen Mukhyopadhyay, Ajoy Chakraborty and Sandhya Mukherjee.

Vocalists Nachiketa, Sriradha Bandyopadhyay, Dileep Kumar Bose and Fakir Alamgir were honoured with Special Sangeet Samman.

In addition, it was announced at the function that Sangeet Mela will be held for the next 10 days at different venues where 5000 artists will participate. A monthly honorarium of 1000 will be given to 50000 folk artists.