West Bengal Government approved proposal for formation of 5 new districts


Who: Proposal for formation of 5 new districts
What: Approved by West Bengal Government
When: 18 December 2015

The West Bengal Government on 18 December 2015 cleared the proposal for setting up five new districts in the state. These five new districts will increase the number of districts of West Bengal to 25.

Earlier, state Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had promised about setting up new districts for better administrative control and for deliverance of public service at the door steps of the people staying in remote areas.

The five new districts will be:

Kalimpong: It will be carved out of Kalimpong subdivision of the State’s Darjeeling district.

Basirhat: It will be formed out of North 24 Parganas district.

Sunderbans: It currently stretches across parts of the North and South 24 Parganas districts.

Jhargram: It will be carved out of Paschim Midnapore district.

Burdwan (Industrial) and Burdwan (Rural): The existing Burdwan district will be bifurcated into Burdwan (Industrial) and Burdwan (Rural).

At least six months to a year will be taken to create the new districts after getting necessary court orders, infrastructure and funds.