Vijay Diwas observed across the country to commemorate India’s victory in 1971 war


Who: Vijay Diwas
Where: Across the country
What: Observed
When: 16 December 2015
Why: To commemorate India’s victory in 1971 war

16 December: Vijay Diwas

Vijay Diwas was observed across the country on 16 December 2015. On this day, nation remembers martyrs, who laid down their lives during Indo-Pak War of 1971.

On this occasion, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar, Army Chief D S Suhag, Navy Chief R K Dhowan and Air Chief Arup Raha remembered martyrs and paid tributes at Amar Jawan Jyoti in New Delhi.

About Vijay Diwas

• On 16 December 1971, General Amir Abdullah Khan Niazi, Chief of Pakistan forces along with 93000 troops had surrendered unconditionally to the allied forces after the defeat of Pakistan in the war.
• The forces consisted of Indian Army and Mukti Bahini. They were led by General Jagjit Singh Aurora in Dhaka.
• The end of the India- Pakistan war 1971 also resulted in subsequent secession of East Pakistan into Bangladesh.
• Since then, the day is being celebrated as Victory Day in Bangladesh and Vijay Diwas in India.