Union Cabinet approved MoU with Bangladesh to set up border haats


Who: MoU with Bangladesh
What: Approved by Union Cabinet
When: 6 January 2016
Why: To set up border haats

The Union Cabinet, presided by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on 6 January 2016 gave its ex-post-facto approval for the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between India and Bangladesh.

The approval was given for:

MoU and Mode of Operation of Border Haats that was signed on 23 October 2010 with Bangladesh for setting up Border Haats on India-Bangladesh Border.

Addendum to the MoU signed on 15 May 2012.

To establish new Border Haats after identification of suitable locations in consultation with Government of Bangladesh and concerned State Governments.

To modify/revise the terms and condition of the above MoU/Addendum in consultation with relevant State Governments/Central Government agencies and Government of Bangladesh.


About Border Haats

The Border Haats aim at promoting the well-being of the people dwelling in remote areas across the borders of two countries.

The haats will establish traditional system of marketing the local produce thorough local markets in local currency and/or barter basis.

Though not significant as a percentage of bilateral trade, the measures will help to improve economic well-being of marginalised sections of society.


During the visit of Bangladesh Prime Minister to India from 10 January 2010 to 13 January 2010, it was agreed that Border Haats will be established on a pilot basis at selected areas to allow trade in specified products and in accordance with the regulations agreed and notified by both the governments.

In order to implement the same, an MoU and the Mode of operation of Border Haats across the border between Bangladesh and lndia was signed on 23 October 2010.

Subsequently, an Addendum to Mode of operation of Border Haats across the Border between Bangladesh and India was also signed on 15 May 2012.

The following Border Haats are already operational:

• Kalaichar (Meghalaya-Bangladesh border)
• Balat (Meghalaya-Bangladesh border)
• Kamlasagar (Tripura-Bangladesh border)
• Srinagar (Tripura-Bangladesh border)