UNESCO Medals conferred for contributions to development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies


Who: UNESCO Medals
Where: Paris
What: Conferred on eight scientists
When: 5 February 2016
Why: For contributing to development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies

Eight scientists on 5 February 2016 received the UNESCO Medals for their contributions to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies at Paris.

The winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics, Professor Isamu Akasaki was among the eight.

The list of 2016 UNESCO Medals are:


Name Country Contribution
Professor Isamu Akasaki  Japan Created the blue light-emitting diodes, which resulted in the discovery of white light sources for illumination.


Professor Lei Jiang China Designed and fabricated the bio-inspired surfaces with specific wettability.
Professor Philippe Pernod France Worked on active nanostructured magnetic and multiferroic films, Micro-Magneto-Electro-Mechanical Systems and their applications, and multistable nanostructures.


Professor Nicholas Kotov United States of America Worked on biometric self-organization of Nano colloids, ultra-strong nanocomposites, tissue engineering with nanomaterials, and nanoscale drugs.
Academician Gennady Krasnikov Russian Federation For his efforts to broaden the use of nanotechnologies in manufacturing industries
Professor Igor Ashurbeyli Russian Federation For his work in the field of the development of new generation microelectronic devices, information systems and technologies.


Doctor Mikhail Dubina Russian Federation For his work in research and development of new medical technologies based on the use of nanostructures in the earlier on-line diagnostics as well as the creation of new nano biotechnological devices that could influence the   bioprocesses in the human body.


Doctor Natalya Mikhaylova Russian Federation For her work on the application of nanotechnologies in aesthetic medicine, in the fields of cosmetology, polysaccharide development, cancer therapy, reconstructive and plastic surgery.

About UNESCO Medal

• The Medal was established in 2010 at the initiative of the International Commission responsible for developing the Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies theme for the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS).

• It is awarded each year by the Director-General of UNESCO to prominent scientists, public figures and organizations that contributed to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies in the spirit of UNESCO’s priorities.

• Zhores Alferov, the winner of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2000 and Chunli Bai, President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences were also received this Medal.