UNESCO Fellini medal to be awarded at IFFI for the first time


Who: UNESCO Fellini medal
Where: IFFI, Goa
What: To be awarded at IFFI for the first time

The UNESCO Fellini medal will be awarded in India for the first time at the 46th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) in collaboration with the International Council for Film, Television and Audiovisual Communication (ICFT), Paris.

The medal is given to a film that reflects UNESCO’s ideals.

About UNESCO Fellini medal

The Fellini medal was unveiled at the Cannes Film Festival in May 1995.
The medal holds a double significance – to honour Italian director Federico Fellini’s contribution to film as an art form, and to commemorate the centenary of the birth of cinema (1895-1995).
Italian painter Valerio Adami designed the fragmented, interlocking images of the medal.
The obverse side features a profile of Fellini with his signature hat, facing the inscription 8 1/2, the title of one of the most famous films in the history of cinema.
The reverse is inscribed Fellini (1920-1993) UNESCO.

Four Indian films have been chosen to compete for the prestigious award:

Kaushik Ganguly’s Bengali film Cinemawala
Sidharth Siva’s Malayalam film Ain
Subodh Bhave’s Marathi movie Katyar Kaljat Ghusli
Malayalam film by Dr Biju Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal

Other competitors are:

Mina Walking (Afghanistan, Canada)
Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia, Venezuela, Argentina)
The Last Reel (Combodia)
Among the Believers (USA, Pakistan)
The Pearl Button (Chile, France, Spain)
Land and Shade (Colombia, France, Netherlands, Chile, Brazil)
Enclave (Serbia and Montenegro, Germany)
Wawa no Cidal (Taiwan)