Tyson Fury defeated Wladimir Klitschko to become world heavyweight champion


Who: Tyson Fury
Where: Düsseldorf, Germany
What: Defeated Wladimir Klitschko to become world heavyweight champion
When: 28 November 2015

Britain’s Tyson Fury on 28 November 2015 defeated Ukraine’s Wladimir Klitschko to become World Boxing Association (WBA) (Super),International Boxing Federation (IBF), World Boxing Organization (WBO), International Boxing Organization (IBO) and The Ring unified heavyweight champion.

The fight took place in Düsseldorf, Germany.

Title showdown with Klitschko

It was confirmed in July 2015 that Fury will take part in a World Heavyweight title showdown with Klitschko for WBA (Super), IBF, WBO, IBO and The Ring Heavyweight titles.

For the match, Fury trained together with the highest ranked heavyweight kickboxers in GLORY, Rico Verhoeven and Benjamin Adegbuyi.

Fury was awarded the fight 115-112, 115-112, 116-111 on the judges’ scorecards.

Fury is Britain’s fifth bona fide heavyweight world champion after Bob Fitzsimmons, Lennox Lewis, Frank Bruno and David Haye.

About Tyson Fury

Born on 12 August 1988, Fury is a two-time former British and English champion, a former European, Commonwealth and Irish heavyweight champion. He is also a former WBO Inter-Continental and WBO International heavyweight champion.

On 23 July 2011, he faced Dereck Chisora and defeated him via unanimous decision.

On 1 December 2012, he fought American world title contender Kevin Johnson and won via unanimous decision.

He is a supporter of Premier League football club Manchester United.

About Wladimir Klitschko

Born on 25 March 1976, Klitschko is the former world champion of four sanctioning bodies, holding the titles of the WBA, IBF, WBO, and IBO. He was recognized by boxing publication The Ring magazine as its world heavyweight champion.

He won a gold medal at the 1996 Olympics and has held a portion of the world heavyweight championship since 2006.

He is the second longest reigning heavyweight champion of all time.