Saudi Arabia launched 34-nation Islamic Military Coalition to counter terrorism


Who: Islamic Military Coalition
Where: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
What: Launched by Saudi Arabia
When: 15 December 2015
Why: To counter terrorism

Saudi Arabia on 15 December 2015 announced the launch of Islamic Military Coalition to counter terrorism. The coalition will be led by Saudi Arabia and see the participation of 34 nations.

It was established in pursuance of the principles and objectives of the charter of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), which calls for member states to cooperate to combat terrorism in all its forms and manifestations.

The coalition includes nations with large and established armies such as Pakistan, Turkey and Egypt as well as war-torn countries such as Libya and Yemen.

It will have a joint operations center based in Saudi Arabia’s capital,Riyadh.

Member nations: Saudi Arabia, Jordan, United Arab Emirates, Pakistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Turkey, Chad, Togo, Tunisia, Djibouti, Senegal, Sudan, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Gabon, Guinea, Palestine, Comoros, Qatar, Cote d’Ivoire, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Maldives, Mali, Malaysia, Egypt, Morocco, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Yemen.

More than ten other Islamic countries have expressed their support for this alliance and will take the necessary measures in this regard, including Indonesia.