Sania Mirza, Martina Hingis won 2016 St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy


Who: 2016 St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy
Where: St. Petersburg, Russia
What: Won by Sania Mirza-Martina Hingis duo
When: 14 February 2016

Sania Mirza and her Swiss partner Martina Hingis on 14 February 2016 won the 2016 St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy in St. Petersburg, Russia.

To win the title, the top-seeded Indo-Swiss pair defeated the Russian-Czech team of Vera Dushevina and Barbora Krejcikova by 6-3 6-1 in the women’s doubles final.

For the duo, the victory in the final was consequent 40 match win. Also, the title was the fourth in the 2016 season and the 13th overall.

In early 2016, the pair won Australian Open, Apia International Sydney title and Brisbane Tennis trophy.

Earlier records in women’s doubles

Longest winning streak since 1990: It was registered by Jana Novotna and Helena Sukova of Czech Republic who won 44 matches in a row.

All time record: It is held by Martina Navratilova (Czech-American) and Pam Shriver (the USA) who set up the record in 1983 by winning record 109 matches in a row.