Salman Rushdie honoured with Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement


Who: Salman Rushdie
Where: New York
What: Honoured with Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement
When: 10 December 2015

India-born author Salman Rushdie on 10 December 2015 was awarded the prestigious Mailer Prize for lifetime achievement. American experimental performance artist Laurie Anderson presented the award to Rushdie at Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York City.

The prestigious Mailer Prize honours writers who fully exercise their freedom of creativity and thrive on dialogue and debate.

About Salman Rushdie

Rushdie is the author of famous books like, Booker Prize winnerMidnight’s Children, and controversial The Satanic Verses.

His most recent novel, Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights, was published in the English language in September 2015.

He is a Fellow of the British Royal Society of Literature.

He has received the Whitbread Prize for Best Novel (twice), theWriters’ Guild Award, the European Union’s Aristeion Prize for Literature, the London International Writers’ Award and a US National Arts Award.

He holds honorary doctorates and fellowships at six European and six American universities. He is also an Honorary Professor in the Humanities at MIT and University Distinguished Professor at Emory University.

About Mailer Prize

The Mailer Prize is an American literary award established in 2009 by The Norman Mailer Center and The Norman Mailer Writers Colony.

The prize is named after renowned American writer Norman Mailer, considered among the most influential writers of the second half of the 20th century.

The prize is given to writers whose work over the years has challenged readers’ perspectives on the world around them.

Previous winners of the Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement are:

Don DeLillo in 2014

Maya Angelou in 2013

Joyce Carol Oates in 2012

Elie Wiesel in 2011

Orhan Pamuk in 2010

Toni Morrison in 2009