Odisha’s Barabati stadium excluded from BCCI’s new Test venues


Who: Odisha’s Barabati stadium
What: Excluded from BCCI’s new Test venues
When: 9 November 2015

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on 9 November 2015 excluded Barabati stadium in Cuttack, Odisha from the list of newly declared Test venues.

Barabati Stadium was excluded from the list after Cricket fans hurled plastic bottled onto the ground forcing the match referees to stop the match for some time.

The bottles were thrown during India’s dismal batting display in the 2nd T20 International match against South Africa on 5 October 2015. The visitors had won the match.

However, Visakhapatnam, Ranchi, Indore, Pune, Dharamsala and Rajkot were accorded the status of Test venues.

The new list for Test venues was declared at the Board’s 86th Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Mumbai.