Nitish Kumar selected for K Veeramani Social Justice Award


What : K Veeramani Social Justice Award
Who : Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar
When: January 26,2016

In a letter to Nitish, USA-based award committee chairman Lakshman Tamil has informed the CM that the award has been conferred on him for his social justice-related works. The award committee has sought an appointment when the award which carries a plaque and Rs 1 lakh can be conferred on Nitish at Patna.


 The international award is constituted by Periyar E V Ramasami’s NRI followers in honour of his disciple K Veeramani, who is president of the Dravidar Kazhagam. Constituted in 1996, the award recipients include former PM V P Singh, former UP CM Mayawati, former Tamil Nadu CM M Karunanidhi, former Maharashtra deputy CM Chhagan Bhujbal and former AICC president Sitaram Kesri.
Hailing the Periyar International decision, JD (U) spokesman KC Tyagi said the selection of Nitish for the award proves that the social justice model being followed in Bihar under his leadership is considered a benchmark not only in the country but even on foreign shores. The honour reiterates that the Bihar government has sincerely worked for the development of people from deprived sections of the society, Tyagi said. Tyagi said the Nitish government’s initiatives during the last one decade, including special welfare projects for Mahadalits and reservation to EBCs in panchayati raj institutions, are a milestone for social justice.

JD (U) MLC Neeraj Kumar said the international recognition is a pointer to the fact that the Bihar government has transformed the lives of lakhs of families who were deprived of even basic amenities for several decades. “The Bihar model of development with justice should be replicated across the country,” he said.