Nepal decided to constitute 11-member political committee over provincial demarcations


Nepal Government on 18 February 2016 decided to constitute an 11-member-political committee to study the demarcation of federal states on the constitution. It will also review the disputed provisions within the country’s new constitution that was adopted on 20 September 2015. The 11-member will be chaired by the Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Kamal Thapa and will also include representatives from the agitating Madhesis. Moreover, the committee will decide its terms of reference (ToR) on its own. The committee is mandated to prepare its report and suggest recommendations within three months after it gets full shape.