Ministry of Information & Broadcasting reconstituted Central Press Accreditation Committee


Who: Central Press Accreditation Committee
What: Reconstituted by Ministry of Information & Broadcasting
When: 19 October 2015

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting on 19 October 2015 reconstituted the Central Press Accreditation Committee (CPAC) that issues Press Information Bureau (PIB) cards to journalists.

Post reconstitution, PIB director general Frank Noronha will be the ex-officio chairman of the committee.

Renowned journalists included in the the committee are:

Pramod Kumar of National Union of Journalists (India), International Federation of Journalists
Surendra Verma of Association of Accredited News Cameraman
Shyam Babu of Indian Federation of Working Journalists
Rabi Rath from Association of Small and Medium Newspapers of India
Meenakshi Pandit from All India Journalists Welfare Association

The nominated members for the committee are:

Navika Kumar from Times Now
Diwakar Asthana from The Times of India
Coomi Kapoor from Indian Express
Jayanto Ghoshal from ABP
Amitabh Sinha from IBN-7 TV
Akhilesh Sharma from NDTV
Kalyan Barua from Assam Tribune
Iftikhar Geelani from DNA
Nistula Hebbar from The Hindu
Shekhar Iyer from Deccan Herald

The tenure of the CPAC will be for a period of two years from the date of its first meeting.