MHRD constituted TSR Subramanian committee to draft New Education Policy


Who: TSR Subramanian committee
What: Constituted by the MHRD
When: 31 October 2015
Why: To draft revision to New Education Policy 1986

Union Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) on 31 October 2015 constituted a drafting committee to frame the New Education Policy (NEP). It will be headed by former Cabinet Secretary TSR Subramanian and will have four members-

• Shailaja Chandra, former Chief Secretary, NCT of Delhi
• Sewaram Sharma, former Home Secretary, NCT of Delhi

• Sudhir Mankad, former Chief Secretary of Gujarat
• JS Rajput, former Director, NCERT

The mandate of the committee is to go through the outcomes of wide-ranging consultation process, among others, initiated by the ministry on 26 January 2015 and draft a revision to the NEP 1986 and also submit Framework for Action.

The committee is expected to submit the report by 31 October 2015.