Maharashtra won Wheelchair Basketball Championship


Who: Maharashtra
What: Won Wheelchair Basketball Championship
When: 6 December 2015

Maharashtra on 6 December 2015 defeated Punjab to win the 2015 National Wheelchair Basketball Championship.

The competition opened on the eve of the International Day of People with Disabilities. Nine states took part in the competition. The states are Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh,Maharashtra, Delhi, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

The second edition of the Wheelchair Basketball Championship was organised by the International Committee of the Red Cross, Wheelchair Basketball Federation of India and the Sports Authority of India.

About Wheelchair Basketball Federation of India

Wheelchair Basketball Federation of India (WBFI), founded in 2014, is a registered national body.

The federation aims at promoting wheelchair basketball sport in the country.

The vision of WBFI is to enable large-scale participation and following for wheelchair basketball as a means to empower physically-challenged persons and to nurture strong state-level and national teams for wheelchair basketball in India.