Maharashtra Government declared 14708 villages as drought-hit


Who: 14708 villages of Maharashtra
What: Declared as drought-hit
When: 16 October 2015
Why: As monsoon was deficient by over 50%

Government of Maharashtra on 16 October 2015 declared 14708 out of 40053 villages as drought-hit where the monsoon rainfall was deficient by over 50 percent.

As a relief measure to farmers in the drought-hit villages, the government announced several steps including waiver of land revenue and electricity charges among others.

This is the second straight year of drought for Maharashtra where the south-west monsoon was deficient by 27 percent.

Also, Maharashtra also became the second state in the country as Karnataka declared 27 out of 30 districts as drought-hit in August 2015.

The drought-hit villages in Maharashtra are spread across 20 of the 35 districts in the state, including all eight districts of the Marathwada region.

The drought-hit districts are: Gadchiroli, Nagpur, Akola, Yavatmal, Aurangabad, Parbhani, Latur, Nanded, Beed, Jalna, Osmanabad, Hingoli, Pune, Satara, Sangli, Nashik, Dhule, Nandurbar, Jalgaon and Ahmednagar.