Indian driver Jehan Daruvala won Lady Wigram Trophy motor race


Who: Indian driver Jehan Daruvala
Where: Christchurch, New Zealand
What: Won Lady Wigram Trophy motor race
When: 16 January 2016

Sahara Force India Academy racer Jehan Daruvala on 16 January 2016 won one of New Zealand’s most prestigious events, the Lady Wigram Trophy.

It was Daruvala’s maiden victory in Formula cars since making the switch from karting in 2015.

In August 2015, Daruvala won Rookie of the Year at the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC series championships in the Netherlands.

About Lady Wigram Trophy

The Lady Wigram Trophy is a New Zealand motorsport race trophy formerly awarded to the winner of the Wigram Airfield race.

It made up part of the Tasman Series and classes like Formula Holden, Formula 5000, Formula Pacific and Formula Three.

Formula 1 greats like Jackie Stewart, Jack Brabham, Stirling Moss, Jim Clark and Bruce McLaren were all former winners of the Lady Wigram Trophy.