India, UK Sign Agreements For Collaborations In Crop Science


Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology and a consortium of top UK research institutions signed Memorandum of Understanding today for establishment of a joint India-UK collaboration programme in crop science. The aim of the agreement is to enhance collaborative research, promote knowledge exchange, and support capacity building to develop resilience in food security.The agreement was signed by Prof. K. VijayRaghavan, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India and the Vice-Chancellor Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz on behalf of the University of Cambridge, and by Nafees Meah on behalf of the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC) of UK. It was also signed by representatives from the National Institute for Agricultural Botany (NIAB), in Cambridge; the John Innes Centre, UK; the University of East Anglia, in Norwich, UK; and Rothamsted Research Institute UK.