India re-elected to UN Commission on International Trade Law


Who: India
What: Re-elected to UN Commission on International Trade Law
When: 9 November 2015

India on 9 November 2015 was re-elected by the General Assembly to a six year term on the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL).

Apart from India, 22 other countries including the United States and Pakistan were also re-elected to the UNCITRAL.

The Monday election was the fifth election that India has won in 2015. The country also won the re-election to the UN Human Rights Council held in 2014.

In April 2015, the UN Economic and Social Committee (ECOSOC) elected India to the executive councils of UNICEF and the World Food Programme, the governing council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) and the Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice.


The United Nations General Assembly by its Resolution 2205 (XXI) of 17 December 1966 established the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) to promote the progressive harmonization and unification of international trade law.

The Commission is a legal body with universal membership specializing in commercial law reform worldwide for over 40 years. It carries out its work at annual sessions held alternately in New York City and Vienna.

The Commission comprises of six working groups to perform the substantive preparatory work on topics within the Commission’s programme of work. The six working groups and their current topics are:

Working Group I – Micro, Small and Medium-sized Enterprises
Working Group II – Arbitration and Conciliation
Working Group III – Online Dispute Resolution
Working Group IV – Electronic Commerce
Working Group V – Insolvency Law
Working Group VI – Security Interests