India inked MoUs with six countries in the International Civil Aviation Negotiations


Who: Memorandum of Understanding
Where: International Civil Aviation Negotiations (ICAN) 2015, Antalya,Turkey
What: Signed between India and six countries
When: From 19 to 23 October 2015

The Government of India announced on 12 November 2015 that it signed Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with six countries. These countries are: Finland, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Sweden, Norway and Denmark, and Oman and Ethiopia.

In addition, Agreed Minutes were signed with Serbia, Greece, and European Commission. The Record of Discussions was signed with Brunei Darussalam and Qatar.

The MoUs were signed during International Civil Aviation Negotiations (ICAN) 2015, which was held in Antalya, Turkey from 19 to 23 October 2015.

Mou with Oman

As per the agreement signed between Indian and Oman, additional 5131 seats were granted taking the total capacity entitlements from 16018 seats per week to 21149 seats per week for both sides.

Mou with Kazakhstan

Both the countries agreed to review the initialled Air Services Agreement (ASA) as per the latest Article 11 given by the Indian side.
Both the parties also agreed to third country airlines code share and domestic code share operations to four points.

Mou with Kenya

As per the signed MoU, the capacity entitlements have been increased from 14 frequencies for each side to 21 additional frequencies.
Hyderabad was allowed as an additional point of call for the designated carriers of Kenya.
Domestic code share was agreed to from any 4 points by both sides.
Kenya agreed to grant one additional point, intermediate and beyond point with full 5th freedom rights in Africa to India.

Mou with Ethiopia

Capacity entitlements were increased from the existing 21 frequencies per week to 28 frequencies per week for both sides.
Ethiopia was allowed to exchange Bangalore in place of Kolkata as a point of call.
Three additional domestic code share points exclusively to code share with Air India were granted namely Jaipur, Kolkata and Pune.

Mou with Finland

The provisions namely code share, intermodal services, routing flexibility and open sky on cargo, which are mandatory requirement of Horizontal Agreement coming into force were agreed to by Finland.
Further domestic code share was agreed to on 5 points in the territory of both parties.
The domestic code share points for the designated airline of Finland are Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Pune and Kolkata.

Mou with Sweden, Norway and Denmark

Four provisions namely, code shares, intermodal, routing flexibility and open sky on cargo, which are the mandatory requirements of Horizontal Agreement coming into force was agreed to by the three Scandinavian countries.
India accepted Norway’s request to bring Norway-India bilateral in line with Horizontal Agreement on receiving a letter to this effect from European Council.
Sweden allowed India another new point namely Gothenburg for code share operations.