ICC Women’s Team Rankings launched


Who: ICC Women’s Team Rankings
What: Launched
When: 1 October 2015

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on 1 October 2015 launched the official ICC Women’s Team Rankings, which incorporate results in all three formats of the game into one rankings system. The innovative new system treats results from Test, ODI and T20I cricket equally.

Australia was ranked number one following its success in the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 in India and the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2014 in Bangladesh. It also leads the ICC Women’s Championship, which is the qualifying tournament for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017.

Indian women’s cricket team was ranked at fourth place in the list.

ICC Women’s Team Rankings (as on 1 October 2015)

Ranking Team Points
1 Australia 134
2 England 124
3 New Zealand 109
4 India 105
5 West Indies 99
6 South Africa 92
7 Pakistan 81
8 Sri Lanka 74
9 Bangladesh 57
10 Ireland 26

The launch of ICC Women’s Team Rankings is part of the ICC’s long-term commitment to investing, incentivising, promoting and publicising women’s cricket.

The ICC Women’s Team Rankings was devised by statistician and ICC Cricket Committee member David Kendix, who has applied the same methodology as is used for the men’s rankings.