Gujarat clinched maiden Vijay Hazare Trophy


Who: Gujarat
What: Won maiden Vijay Hazare Trophy
When: 28 December 2015

Gujarat on 28 December 2015 clinched the Vijay Hazare Cricket Trophy. It is the first time that Gujarat won the trophy.

In the final of the limited overs tournament, Gujarat defeated Delhi by 139 runs at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.

The 2015–16 Vijay Hazare Trophy was the 14th season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

About Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Vijay Hazare Trophy is also known as the Ranji One Day Trophy.

It was started in 2002–03 as a limited-overs cricket domestic competition involving state teams from the Ranji Trophy plates.

From the tournament’s inaugural edition during the 1993–94 season through to the 2001–02 season, no finals were held, and teams consequently played only within their zones, with no overall winner named.