Grand Alliance won the 2015 Assembly Elections of Bihar with two-thirds majority


Who: 2015 Bihar Assembly Elections
What: Grand Alliance won with two-thirds majority
When: 8 November 2015

Election Commission of India on 8 November 2015 announced the results of the 2015 Assembly elections of Bihar. The elections were held in 5 phases between 12 October and 5 November 2015 for 243 assembly seats.



Grand Alliance (Mahagathbandhan) of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), JANATA DAL (UNITED) (JD(U)) and Indian National Congress (INC) emerged as the winner of the election with thumping two-third majority. RJD, a part of the grand Alliance with 80 seats emerged as the largest party.
Results as declared

Party Won in 2015
Bharatiya Janata Party 53 (24.4%)
Indian National Congress 27 (6.7%)
Janata Dal (United) 71 (16.8%)
Lok Jan Shakti Party 2 (4.8%)
Rashtriya Janata Dal 80 (18.4%)
Rashtriya Lok Samta Party 2
Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 3 (1.5%)
Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 1 (2.3%)
Independent 4
Total 243