FC Barcelona won 2015 FIFA Club World Cup


Who: 2015 FIFA Club World Cup
Where: Yokohama, Japan
What: Won by FC Barcelona
When: 20 December 2015
Why: Defeated Argentina’s River Plate by 3-0

FC Barcelona on 20 December 2015 won the 2015 FIFA Club World Cup. To win the title, Barcelona defeated Argentina’s River Plate by 3-0. The final match was held at the International Stadium in Yokohama, Japan.

From Barcelona, Luis Suárez of Uruguay scored two goals, while the remaining goal was made by Lionel Messi of Argentina.

With this goal, Messi became the first player to score in three finals after leading Barca to victory in 2009 and 2011.

At the end of the annual event, Suarez collected the Player-of-the-Tournament and Golden Boot awards.

So far, the event was held for 12 times and Barcelona tops the table of winners with three titles overall.

The 2013 title was won by FC Bayern Munich that was held in Morocco.