Australian batsman David Warner won Allan Border Medal 2016


Who: Australian batsman David Warner
Where: Australia
What: Won Allan Border Medal 2016
When: 27 January 2016

Australian batsman David Warner on 27 January 2016 defeated captain Steve Smith for the prestigious Allan Border Medal for 2016.

Warner polled 240 votes from players, umpires and media representatives to beat last year’s winner and skipper Steve Smith on 219. Pace bowler Mitchell Starc was third on 183 votes.

Warner also won the Test Player of the Year Award with 30 votes ahead of Smith on 24.

Other winners announced in the award ceremony are:

Award Winner
Test Player of the Year David Warner
One Day International Player of the Year Glenn Maxwell
Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year


Alex Ross
State Player of the Year Adam Voges (Western Australia)
Women’s International Cricketer of the Year (Belinda Clark Award) Ellyse Perry

About David Warner

David Andrew Warner is an explosive left-handed opening batsman for Australia.

He is the first Australian cricketer in 132 years to be selected for a national team in any format without experience in first-class cricket.

He currently plays for New South Wales, the Sunrisers Hyderabad and the Sydney Thunder.

He became vice-captain of Australia across Test & ODI formats of the game in August 2015.

About Allan Border Medal

The Allan Border Medal is considered to be the most prestigious individual prize in Australian cricket.

The medal is named after former Australian captain Allan Border and recognises the most outstanding Australian cricketer of the past season as voted by his peers, the media and umpires.

Votes are cast after each game on a 3–2–1 basis, with a weighting applied to give both One Day International and Test players an equal chance of winning the award.

It was first awarded in 2000.