69th British Academy Film Awards announced


Who: 69th British Academy Film Awards
Where: Royal Opera House, London
What: Announced
When: 14 February 2016

The 69th British Academy Films Awards (BAFTAs) were announced on 14 February 2016. The award ceremony was  held at the Royal Opera House in London.

The awards were announced to honour the best British and international contributions to film in 2015. Presented by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA), accolades were handed out for the best in feature-length film and documentaries of any nationality, that were screened at British cinemas during 2015.

The nominees were announced on 8 January 2016 by Stephen Fry and Gugu Mbatha-Raw.

Wilderness drama The Revenant, starring Leonardo DiCaprio, won the Best Film Award. Brooklyn was named the Outstanding British Film while Inside Out won the Best Animated Film. Amy won the award in Best Documentary category.

Complete list of winners:



Best Film The Revenant
Outstanding British Film Brooklyn
Adapted Screenplay The Big Short
Original Screenplay Spotlight
Leading Actor Leonardo DiCaprio for The Revenant
Leading Actress Brie Larson for Room
Supporting Actor Mark Rylance for Bridge of Spies
Supporting Actress Kate Winslet for Steve Jobs
Best Director Alejandro G. Iñárritu for The Revenant
Outstanding Debut Naji Abu Nowar (Writer/Director) Rupert Lloyd (Producer)
Animated Film Inside Out
British Short Animation Edmond
British Short Film Operator
Cinematography The Revenant
Costume Design Mad Max: Fury Road
Documentary Amy
EE Rising Star John Boyega
Editing Mad Max: Fury Road
Film Not In The English Language Wild Tales
Make Up and Hair Mad Max: Fury Road
Original Music The Hateful Eight
Production Design Mad Max: Fury Road
Sound The Revenant
Special Visual Effects Star Wars: The Force Awakens