10th East Asia Summit held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


Who: 10th East Asia Summit
Where: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
What: Held

The 10th East Asia Summit (EAS) was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on 22 November 2015. The year’s summit held under the theme Our People, Our Community, Our Vision.

It was the 10th anniversary of the establishment of the East Asia Summit.

The summit was chaired by the Prime Minister of Malaysia Najib Razak and attended by the Heads of State/Government of ASEAN Member States, Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Korea, Russia and the United States of America.

The participant leaders reaffirmed their commitment to
• The 2005 Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the Establishment of the EAS
• The 2010 Ha Noi Declaration on the Commemoration of the 5th Anniversary of the EAS
• The 2011 Declaration of the EAS on the Principles for Mutually Beneficial Relations

The commitments emphasised the role of the EAS as a Leaders-led forum for strategic dialogue and cooperation on political, security and economic issues of common regional concern with the aim to promote peace, stability and economic prosperity in East Asia.

The 11th East Asia Summit will be held Lao PDR in 2016. 9th East Asia Summit was held in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar on 13 November 2014.

About East Asia Summit
The East Asia Summit is an annual meeting of national leaders from the East Asian region and adjoining countries. The first summit was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in December 2005.

EAS meetings are held after annual ASEAN leaders’ meetings.