Fresherslive Current Affairs;

Parliament adopts resolution levying 200% duty on all Pakistani goods

Last Updated: July 11, 2019

Free Current Affairs to Your Email
Parliament adopts resolution levying 200% duty on all Pakistani goods

Parliament adopts resolution levying 200% duty on all Pakistani goods

11 July 2019 Current Affairs: The Parliament adopted resolution slapping  200 percent duty on all goods originating in or exported from Pakistan.
Already decision was taken on Feb 16  after Pulwama terror attack.
The two statutory resolutions were moved by Anurag Thakur, Minister of State (M/S) for Finance on behalf of Union Minister of Finance Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman adopted their voice.
 The notification made on February 16 this year to impose a basic customs duty to 200 percent on all goods originating or exported from Pakistan.
 The decision was taken after the Pulwama terror attack in which 40 CRPF personnel were killed.
Pakistan-based Jaish-e-Mohammed had taken responsibility for the terror attack. India had also withdrawn MFN (most favored nation) status to Pakistan.

The Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha approved the amendment in the first schedule of the Custom Tariff Act 1975.
The two houses also adopted a resolution to approve a notification issued last month to increase the basic customs duty on lentils, boric acid and diagnostic and laboratory reagents.
 On lentils, the duty has been increased from 40 percent to 50 percent, on boric acid it has been increased from 17.5 percent to 27.5 percent and on diagnostic items from 20 percent to 
30 percent. 

 "Statutory Resolution"-A resolution in pursuance of a provision in the Constitution or an Act of Parliament.

On 14 February 2019, a convoy of vehicles carrying security personnel on the Jammu Srinagar National Highway was attacked by a vehicle-borne suicide bomber at Lethpora in the Pulwama districT, Jammu and Kashmir, India.
The attack resulted in the deaths of 40 Central Reserve Police Force personnel and the attacker

The Parliament of India is the supreme legislative body of the Republic of India. It is a bicameral legislature composed of the President of India and the two houses: the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha. 
Leader of  Rajya Sabha: THAWAR CHAND GEHLOT, BJP
Leader of Lok Sabha: NARENDRA MODI, BJP
Fresherslive Current Affairs;

Daily Current Affairs 2019

Fresherslive Current Affairs;

Subscribe to Current Affairs

Enter your email to get daily Current Affairs
Current Affairs PDF

Current Affairs 2019 October

October 21
News Quiz
October 20
News Quiz
October 19
News Quiz
October 18
News Quiz

Current Affairs 2019 September

September 30
News Quiz
September 29
News Quiz
September 28
News Quiz
September 27
News Quiz

Current Affairs 2019 August

August 31
News Quiz
August 30
News Quiz
August 29
News Quiz
August 28
News Quiz