Muralitharan, Lohmann, Morris and Rolton to be inducted into Cricket Hall of Fame

Posted on:28 Jul 2016 18:16:52
Muralitharan, Lohmann, Morris and Rolton to be inducted into Cricket Hall of Fame
28 July 2016 Current Affairs: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that Muttiah Muralitharan, Karen Rolton, Arthur Morris and George Lohmann will be inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame on 27 July 2016.

With the announcement, off-spinner Muralitharan becomes the first Sri Lankan player to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The four cricketers were voted by the ICC Cricket Hall of Famers as well as members of the media. They will be presented with commemorative caps honouring their contribution to the game to mark their induction.

Muttiah Muralitharan : Deshabandu Muttiah Muralitharan is a former Sri Lankan cricketer.He was rated the greatest Test match bowler ever by Wisden Cricketers' Almanack in 2002.

He retired from Test cricket in 2010.He registered his 800th and final wicket on 22 July 2010 from his final ball in his last Test match.He holds the world record for the most wickets in both test and one-day cricket.

He took the wicket of Gautam Gambhir on 5 February 2009 in Colombo to surpass Wasim Akram's ODI record of 502 wickets.He held the number one spot in the International Cricket Council’s player rankings for Test bowlers for a record period of 1711 days spanning 214 Test matches He was first Sri Lankan player to be named to the new Twenty20 tournament.

Karen Rolton : Karen Rolton is a former Australian cricketer.She is a left-handed batsman and occasional left-arm medium-paced bowler.

She has scored the most runs for Australia in women's Test cricket.She made her international debut for Australia in 1995.She has played in 14 Test matches, scoring 1002 runs at a batting average of 55.66, including two centuries and five half-centuries.She made her top score of 209 not out against England at Headingley in 2001, setting a world record.

She has twice won the Australian International Woman Cricketer of the Year award in 2002 and 2003 and then in 2005 and 2006.She was the International Cricket Council's inaugural Female Player of the Year in 2006.She also holds the highest score in Women's Twenty20 cricket with an unbeaten 96.She announced her retirement from international cricket in January 2010.

Arthur Morris : Arthur Morris was an Australian cricketer who played 46 Test matches between 1946 and 1955.He is regarded as one of Australia's greatest left-handed batsmen.He was named in the Australian Cricket Board's Team of the Century in 2000.He was inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame in 2001.He passed away on 22 August 2015 at the age of 93.

George Lohmann : George Lohmann was an English cricketer.He is regarded as one of the greatest bowlers of all time.He was the finest slip fielder of his time.In county cricket, he scored two centuries for Surrey and averaged 25 in 1887.He passed away on 1 December 1901 at the age of 36.

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame : The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame recognises the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket's long and illustrious history. It was launched by the ICC on 2 January 2009 in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA).The inaugural inductees ranged from W. G. Grace to Graham Gooch.Members of the Hall of Fame assist in the selection of future inductees.There are more English players in the Hall of Fame than players from other countries.

Monthly Current Affairs

Current Affairs Section

Daily Current Affairs Quiz

Subscribe to Current Affairs

Enter your email to get daily current affairs

Current Affairs 2018 May

27 MAY
26 MAY
25 MAY
24 MAY

Current Affairs 2018 April


Current Affairs 2018 March