List of Prime Ministers of India

The Prime Minister of India is the chief executive of the Government of India. In India's parliamentary system.
  1. Jawaharlal Nehru is the fisrt Prime minister of India.He also India's longest-serving prime minister.
  2. Indira Gandhi was the  first Woman Prime minister of India
  3. Rajiv Gandhi was sworn-in as India's youngest Prime minister of India.
  4. Manmohan Singh is  the first Sikh Prime minister of India.
  5. Narendra Damodardas Modi is the current Prime minister of India (14th).
List of Prime Minister : 
Name Period
Jawahar Lal Nehru 15-Aug-1947 to 27-May-1964
Gulzarilal Nanda 27-May-1964 to 9 June 1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri 09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966
Gulzarilal Nanda 11-Jan-1966 to 24 January 1966
Indira Gandhi 24-Jan-1966 to 24-Mar-1977
Morarji Desai 24-Mar-1977 to 28-Jul-1979
Charan Singh 28-Jul-1979 to 14-Jan-1980
Indira Gandhi 14-Jan-1980 to 31-Oct-1984
Rajiv Gandhi 31-Oct-1984 to 02-Dec-1989
Vishwanath PratapSingh 02-Dec-1989 to 10-Nov-1990
Chandra Shekhar 10-Nov-1990 to 21-Jun-1991
P. V. Narasimha Rao 21-Jun-1991 to 16-May-1996
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16-May-1996 to 01-Jun-1996
H. D. Deve Gowda 01-Jun-1996 to 21-Apr-1997
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19-Mar-1998 to 22-May-2004
Dr. Manmohan   Singh 22-May-2004 to 26-May-2014
Narendra Modi 26-May-2014  to 30 May 2019
Narendra Modi     30 May 2019 to Incumbent

Last Updated: August 22, 2019

Free Current Affairs to Your Email
Download Current Affairs App !!!

Latest Current Affairs 2022

Subscribe to Current Affairs

Enter your email to get daily Current Affairs

Weekly Current Affairs PDF

Monthly Current Affairs PDF

Current Affairs Quiz

Current Affairs 2022 May

May 05
News Quiz
May 04
News Quiz
May 03
News Quiz
May 02
News Quiz

Current Affairs 2022 April

April 30
News Quiz
April 29
News Quiz
April 28
News Quiz
April 27
News Quiz

Current Affairs 2022 March

March 31
News Quiz
March 30
News Quiz
March 29
News Quiz
March 28
News Quiz

Monthly Current Affairs