List of Nuclear Power Plant in India

Last Updated: August 26, 2019

Current Affairs PDF
Free Current Affairs to Your Email
Nuclear power is the fourth-largest source of electricity in India after thermal, hydroelectric and renewable sources of electricity. India has 21 nuclear reactors in operation in 7 nuclear power plants, having an installed capacity of 5780 MW and producing a total of 30,292.91 GW of electricity while 6 more reactors are under construction and are expected to generate an additional 4,300 MW. An ambitious plan to reach a nuclear power capacity of 63,000 MW in 2032.
Nuclear Power Station State Type of the plant Total capacity (MW)
Tarapur Maharashtra Boiling water reactor (BWR) & Pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR) 1,400
Rawatbhata Rajasthan Pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR) 1,180
Kudankulam Tamil Nadu Water-Water Energetic Reactor (VVER)-1000 2,000
Kaiga Karnataka Pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR) 880
Kakrapar Gujarat Pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR) 440
Kalpakkam Tamil Nadu Pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR) 440
Narora Uttar Pradesh Pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR) 440

Projects under construction are:

Power station State Total capacity (MW)
Rajasthan Unit 7 and 8 Rajasthan 1,400
Kakrapar Unit 3 and 4 Gujarat 1,400
Kudankulam Unit 3 and 4 Tamil Nadu 1,000
Madras (Kalpakkam) Tamil Nadu 500
Gorakhpur Haryana 1,400

Planned projects are:

Power station State Total capacity (MW)
Jaitapur Maharashtra 9,900
Kovvada Andhra Pradesh 6,600
Mithi Virdi (Viradi) Gujarat 6,000
Haripur West Bengal 4,000
Gorakhpur Haryana 2,800
Bhimpur Madhya Pradesh 2,800
Mahi Banswara Rajasthan 2,800
Kaiga Karnataka 1,400
Chutka Madhya Pradesh 1,400
Madras Tamil Nadu 1,200
Tarapur Maharashtra 300

Thermal Power Plant: 

Thermal power is the "largest" source of power in India. There are different types of Thermal power plants based on the fuel used to generate the steam such as coal, gas, and Diesel. About 71% of the electricity consumed in India is generated by thermal power plants.
Coal: More than 62% of India's electricity demand is met through the country's vast coal reserves.
Gas-based: The total installed capacity of Natural gas-based power plants in India, is nearly 24,508.63 MW.
Diesel-based: The total installed capacity of major grid-connected diesel-based power plants in India, is 993.53 MW.

List of Major Thermal Power Station in India

Power Station State
Mudra (TPP) Gujarat
Vindhayachal Uttar Pradesh Thermal Power Station Madhya Pradesh
Tirora (TPP) Maharashtra
Amravati (TPP) Maharashtra
Kobra Uttar Pradesh Thermal Power Plant Chattisgarh
Sant Singaji (TPP) Madhya Pradesh
Chandrapur Uttar Pradesh (TPP) Maharashtra
Sipat Thermal Power Plant Chattisgarh
Khaperkheda Thermal Power Station Maharashtra
Satpura Thermal Power Plant Madhya Pradesh
Ukai Thermal Power Plant Gujarat
Bhilai Expansion Power Plant Chattisgarh
Sikka Thermal Power Station Gujarat
Talcher Uttar Pradesh Thermal Odisha
Hirakud Captive Power Plant Odisha
Barauni Thermal Power Plant Bihar
Patratu Thermal Power Plant Jharkhand
Bokaro Thermal Power Plant Jharkhand
Durgapur Thermal Power Plant West Bengal
Rihand Thermal Power Plant Uttar Pradesh
Singrauli Thermal Power Plant Uttar Pradesh
Anpara Thermal Power Plant Uttar Pradesh
Obra Thermal Power Plant Uttar Pradesh
Rosa (TPS) Uttar Pradesh
Chhabra (TPP) Rajasthan
Panki (TPS) Uttar Pradesh
Simhadri Uttar Pradesh Thermal Power Plant Andhra Pradesh
Uttar Pradesh Thermal Power Plant Karnataka
Bellary Thermal Power Plant Karnataka
Mettur Thermal Power Power Plant Station Tamil Nadu

Hydro Power Plants in India: 

India is the 7th largest producer of hydroelectric power. The hydroelectric power potential of 84,000MW at 60% load factor is one of the largest in the world. The present installed capacity as on 31 March 2016 is 42,783 MW which is 14.35% of total utility electricity generation capacity in India.
India also imports surplus hydropower from Bhutan. The hydro-electric power plants at Darjeeling and Shivanasamudra were established in 1898 and 1902 respectively and were among the first in Asia. India has been a dominant player in global hydropower development.
Power station State Total capacity (MW)
Tehri Dam Uttarakhand 2400 MW
Srisailam Dam Andhra Pradesh 1670 MW
Nagarjunasagar Andhra Pradesh 965 MW
Sardar Sarovar Gujarat 1450 MW
Baspa-II Himachal Pradesh 300 MW
Nathpa Jhakri Himachal Pradesh 1500 MW
Bhakra Dam Punjab 1325 MW
Pandoh Dam Himachal Pradesh 990 MW
Baira Suil Himachal Pradesh 180 MW
Chamera-I Himachal Pradesh 540 MW
Chamera-II Himachal Pradesh 300 MW
Pong Himachal Pradesh 396 MW
Uri Hydroelectric Dam Jammu & Kashmir 480 MW
Dulhasti Jammu & Kashmir 390 MW
Salal Jammu & Kashmir 690 MW
Sharavathi Karnataka 1469 MW
Kalinadi Karnataka 1240 MW
Linganamakki Dam Karnataka 55 MW
Idukki Kerala 780 MW
Bansagar Dam Madhya Pradesh 425 MW
Bargi Dam Madhya Pradesh 105 MW
Omkareshwar Madhya Pradesh 520 MW
Indira Sagar Madhya Pradesh 1000 MW
Loktak Manipur 105 MW
Koyna Maharashtra 1920 MW
Mulshi Dam (Bhira Hydroelectric Project) Maharashtra 150 MW
Teesta-VI Sikkim 510 MW
Tanakpur Uttarakhand 120 MW
Dhauliganga-I Uttarakhand 280 MW
Loharinag Uttarakhand 600 MW

Daily Current Affairs 2019

Subscribe to Current Affairs

Enter your email to get daily Current Affairs
Current Affairs PDF

Weekly Current Affairs PDF

Current Affairs Quiz

Current Affairs 2019 November

November 20
News Quiz
November 19
News Quiz
November 18
News Quiz
November 17
News Quiz

Current Affairs 2019 October

October 31
News Quiz
October 30
News Quiz
October 29
News Quiz
October 28
News Quiz

Current Affairs 2019 September

September 30
News Quiz
September 29
News Quiz
September 28
News Quiz
September 27
News Quiz