List of all Presidents of India

The President of India is the head of state and first citizen of India. The President is also the Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces.
The Vice-President of India is the second-highest constitutional office in India, after the President.
  1. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India in 1947.
  2. Two presidents, Zakir Hussain and Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, have died in office.
  3. The terms of Varahagiri Venkata Giri, Muhammad Hidayatullah, and Basappa Danappa Jatti, who have functioned as acting presidents.
  4. Pratibha Patil, who was in office till 25 July 2012, was elected as the 12th President of India in 2007. She is also the first woman to serve as President of India.
  5. The Former President is Pranab Mukherjee elected on 25 July 2012.
  6. Mukherjee held various posts in the cabinet ministry for the Government of India such as Finance Minister, Foreign Minister, Defence Minister and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission. He originally comes from West Bengal and is also the first Bengali to hold the post of the President.
  7. The current President is Ram Nath Kovind was born on 1 October 1945, in Paraunkh village in the Kanpur Dehat district of Uttar Pradesh, as the youngest of five brothers and two sisters. His father Maikulal Kovind ran a small shop. Kovind was born in a mud hut, which eventually collapsed.
List of Indian Presidents
Name Period
Rajendra Prasad 26-Jan-1950 to 13-May-1962
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13-May-1962 to 13-May-1967
Zakir Hussain 13-May-1967 to 3-May-1969
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 3-May-1969 to 20-Jul-1969
Muhammad Hidayatullah 20-Jul-1969 to 24-Aug-1969
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 24-Aug-1969 to 24-Aug-1974
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24-Aug-1974 to 11-Feb-1977
Basappa Danappa Jatti 11-Feb-1977 to 25-Jul-1977
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25-Jul-1977 to 25-Jul-1982
Giani Zail Singh 25-Jul-1982 to 25-Jul-1987
Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25-Jul-1987 to 25-Jul-1992
Shankar Dayal Sharma 25-Jul-1992 to 25-Jul-1997
Kocheril Raman Narayanan 25-Jul-1997 to 25-Jul-2002 
A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 25-Jul-2002 to 25-Jul-2007
Pratibha Patil 25-Jul-2007 to 25-Jul-2012
Pranab Mukherjee 25-Jul-2012 to 24-Jul-2017
Ram Nath Kovind 25-Jul-2017 to Till now

Last Updated: August 22, 2019

Free Current Affairs to Your Email
Download Current Affairs App !!!

Latest Current Affairs 2022

Subscribe to Current Affairs

Enter your email to get daily Current Affairs

Weekly Current Affairs PDF

Monthly Current Affairs PDF

Current Affairs Quiz

Current Affairs 2022 May

May 05
News Quiz
May 04
News Quiz
May 03
News Quiz
May 02
News Quiz

Current Affairs 2022 April

April 30
News Quiz
April 29
News Quiz
April 28
News Quiz
April 27
News Quiz

Current Affairs 2022 March

March 31
News Quiz
March 30
News Quiz
March 29
News Quiz
March 28
News Quiz

Monthly Current Affairs